NewsOK: Oklahoma City News, Sports, Weather & Entertainment

10 Oklahoma students among 2016 Newman Civic Fellows

Ten students from Oklahoma’s colleges and universities were recognized as 2016 Newman Civic Fellows this week by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education meeting.

They are among 218 students from 36 states, Washington, D.C., and Mexico in this year’s class of Newman Civic Fellows.

The Oklahoma honorees are Andrea Balay, Northern Oklahoma College; Molly Danielson, Oklahoma State University; Anna Hollingshead, Oklahoma Baptist University; Jordan Evans, Northwestern Oklahoma State University; Katelyn Gamble, Rogers State University; Andrea Haddox, Tulsa Community College; Lindsey Johnson, Rose State College; Emma Leffler, Southwestern Oklahoma State University; Katie Richard, University of Central Oklahoma; and Aron Smith, Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology.

Each will receive a $500 scholarship from Oklahoma Campus Compact, an organization of college and university presidents who have committed to articulating the importance of civic responsibility as an outcome of higher education. Students are nominated by their president.

The Newman Civic Fellows program was established by Campus Compact in honor of co-founder Frank Newman, who dedicated his life to creating opportunities for student civic learning and engagement. The award is designed to recognize college students who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for the challenges faced by communities across the nation through service, research and advocacy.

More about the students and their work can be found at

K.S. McNutt

Kathryn McNutt covers higher education for The Oklahoman and NewsOK. Since joining the staff in August 2000, she also has worked as the Breaking News editor, Metro editor and assistant Local editor. A native of Oklahoma City, she graduated from... Read more ›