NewsOK: Oklahoma City News, Sports, Weather & Entertainment

Gov. Mary Fallin declares state of emergency in tornado-stricken counties

Gov. Mary Fallin declared a state of emergency Friday for seven counties affected by tornadoes and other severe storms earlier this week.

The declaration, which covers Craig, Mayes, Nowata, Osage, Rogers, Tulsa and Washington counties, allows state agencies to make emergency purchases and acquisitions in order to help communities recover from the storms. The order remains in effect for 30 days.

Seven people were injured when two EF2-rated tornadoes touched down Wednesday night in the Tulsa area.

Silas Allen

Silas Allen is a news reporter for The Oklahoman. He is a Missouri native and a 2008 graduate of the University of Missouri. Read more ›