NewsOK: Oklahoma City News, Sports, Weather & Entertainment

Presidential candidates who have dropped out of race remain on Oklahoma ballots

When Oklahoma voters go to the polls Tuesday, they'll see names like Chris Christie, Martin O'Malley and Jeb Bush on the ballot alongside front-runners in either party.

Although listed on the ballot, those candidates are no longer running for president.

Seven Democrats and 12 Republicans appear on Tuesday's presidential primary ballot in the Sooner State, many of whom are still listed despite the fact that they've suspended their campaigns.

Bryan Dean, a spokesman for the Oklahoma State Election Board, said candidates who planned to run in the 2016 primary election were required to file their candidacy applications with the Election Board between Dec. 7-9. In addition to their application, presidential primary candidates were required to file a $2,500 filing fee and a petition bearing the signatures of at least 1,000 registered voters in every congressional district in the state.

The deadline for candidates to withdraw their names from the running was Dec. 11. The early withdrawal deadline is necessary to allow election officials to get absentee ballots in the mail in time to reach deployed military service members and other voters overseas, Dean said. 

Any candidate who didn't withdraw his or her name before that deadline remained on the ballot, Dean said. So candidates such as Carly Fiorina, Jeb Bush and Martin O'Malley will still appear on the ballot even after dropping out of the race, Dean said. Vote-talliers will count votes for those candidates just like those cast for active candidates, he said.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday. Voters must show proof of identity when voting. Acceptable forms of identification include an Oklahoma driver's license or identification card, a voter identification card, a U.S. passport or military identification card, or photo identification from a federally recognized tribe.

Silas Allen

Silas Allen is a news reporter for The Oklahoman. He is a Missouri native and a 2008 graduate of the University of Missouri. Read more ›