New Epic school board member shared COVID misinformation

NewsOK: Oklahoma City News, Sports, Weather & Entertainment

Deadline nears for cash award for Oklahoma education workers

{/literal}{include file="blk:educationstationblog_header"}{literal}

You have one more day to nominate someone!

GlobalHealth announced today that its Inspiration Award for Employees in Education, which recognizes outstanding education professionals in the community, will return in August to school districts across Oklahoma.

GlobalHealth is an Oklahoma-based health maintenance organization that provides affordable healthcare coverage for federal, state, education and local government employees. The GlobalHealth Inspiration Award is a statewide campaign to honor and recognize education professionals who make a difference in their communities.

“This is a great opportunity to reward education employees throughout the state for inspiring students,” said Former Oklahoma first lady and former teacher, Kim Henry. “As a former educator, I know how hard educators work to make sure their students succeed inside and outside the classroom.”

In order to qualify, the nominee must be employed full-time by the participating school district. The 10 education employees who receive the most nominations will become finalists. The community will then vote for the most inspiring education professional in each district. The person who receives the most votes will win $100, and the winner’s school will receive $1,000 from GlobalHealth. Each district participating will also receive a $3,000 donation from GlobalHealth.

Community members can begin nominating employees on Aug. 8 by visiting the GlobalHealth Facebook page at Users must also “like” the GlobalHealth Facebook page to nominate or vote. Facebook users may nominate as many education employees as they like, with a limit of one nomination for each employee per day. Nominations will close on Sept. 5, and voting will begin Sept. 7.

Participating districts include: Bixby Public Schools, Bristow Public Schools, Coweta Public Schools, Enid Public Schools, Jenks Public Schools, Henryetta Public Schools, Muskogee Public Schools, Owasso Public Schools, Pryor Public Schools, Sand Springs Public Schools, Stillwell Public Schools, Wagoner Public Schools and Yukon Public Schools.

2 Show / Hide Archive Comments

{/literal}{include file="blk:educationstationblog_bottom"}{literal} {/literal}{include file="blk:educationstationblog_rail"}{literal}
Carrie Coppernoll

Carrie Coppernoll is a columnist and reporter. She was named the top personal columnist in Oklahoma in 2009 and 2010 by the Associated Press and Association of Newspaper Editors. She was also named the 2008 Journalist of the Year by the Oklahoma... Read more ›